276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Ex Next Door: An utterly charming and funny romance

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Alternatively titled ‘The Lakehouse Murders,’ the Lifetime film was seemingly filmed around April and May 2021. Are you wondering where this gripping thriller movie was shot? If yes, you might want to know that it could have been filmed in Ottawa, Ontario. Let’s dive into the specific details! Ottawa, Ontario With five minutes left in the movie, Dan is released from prison. The police issue a warrant for Louisa’s arrest, but the can’ find her. Katie finds her in her bedroom. They struggle and Katie pushes Louisa down the stairs. The police and Dan arrive. I guess Louisa died??? Oh wait, no she is in jail refusing to color. Branded as "an utterly charming and funny romance," The Ex Next Door is a fun contemporary fiction that is great for fans of Sophie Kinsella or Mhairi McFarlane. Besides murder, the “cabin in the woods” theme has been frequently observed in films involving horror and violence. A few examples include ‘Hush,’ ‘What Keeps You Alive,’ ‘The Strangers,’ and ‘The Cabin in the Woods,’ to name a few. The reason why it is a major part of pop culture is the prospect of having fewer options of making it out alive when the protagonist is alone in a secluded settlement in the woods. It naturally makes for a thrilling and suspense-inducing watch. Geena denies assaulting Lee and tells Elise that she is gaslighting her and almost hits her with a hammer. Lee stops his wife from hurting Geena and tells Elise that they WILL be moving, even though Geena refuses to leave.

Author Elise and her artist husband Allan live in a house by the lake. Their elderly neighbor Chester loves to fish and thinks his neighbors are hippies. They want him to sell so they can start an artist retreat. She Swifty Seek’s (this movie’s Google) Louisa’s name and looks at her social media accounts and talks to herself about how crazy Louisa is. (Added in post with terrible voice over.) Then Katie finds the camera in her house. She sneaks over to Louisa’s house (like on her tippy toes) and finds a laptop in the bedroom dresser. The laptop contains footage of Louisa setting up the cameras, she is the hooded figure. It also has footage of the night of the murder that would be Dan’s alibi.

Deadly Ex Next Door Cast

Hot Chocolate Holiday' Review: Conflicts over recipe and love in air When will 'Deadly Ex Next Door' release and where to watch it? At first, I wasn't loving this book. Though the writing style immediately gripped me, the romance was slowly losing my interest. There was barely any interaction with the "ex," whom I thought was the love interest for a good chunk of the book. As the story progressed, I began to hate the "ex" more and more, finding him to be the most insufferable, flattest love interest of all time. Turns out, I was looking in the wrong place because he was NOT the story's major love interest. When I say I gasped!!!! Platt played me successfully, and I totally should've seen it coming. I had theories, but I second-guessed myself for most of the book. Turns out, my favorite male character of the book is the love interest! Platt wrote the romance in such an interesting way, that I thought for sure Megan and David would end up together. However, when the MC began to realize her feelings for David, I squealed with joy. The seeds had been there all along and it made perfect sense. I absolutely LOVED the last 25% of the book--including the resolution. It was a such a fantastic "switcheroo," and turned the story into a beautiful "friends to lover" romance, rather than a "second chance" romance like I immediately thought. (I went in blind!). stars - I didn’t connect to any of the characters and i had to force myself to continue reading if I’m honest. Definitely not a book to read if you’re trying to get out of a reading slump… HAPPY HOLIDAYS! We are recapping/reviewing It's a Wonderful Lifetime Christmas Movies this month. This week we talk about Planes, Trains, and Christmas trees! ⁠⁠⁠Will we "Pour it up" or "Put a Cork in it"???

Further more, Esme realizes she actually has growing feelings for David, but there seems to be bad timing until Esme finally confronts her feelings! I wanted to DNF this book from the halfway point, all the way through to the end. I just think so much of it was unhealthy and toxic. I was genuinely hate-reading this story.

Ottawa, Ontario

I don’t even want to talk about logic in this story because I don’t think there was any. I don’t think Esme’s envy of any character having a good day was logical; I don’t think her blaming everything that happened on Elliot was logical; and I definitely don’t think David overlooking all of that and still choosing to be with her in the end was in any way logical at all. I am an independent reviewer. This book is the 2nd in the Secret Shifters Next Door series and ends in an HEA for the couple, but the plot line continues. There is a new couple in this book, but also a lot of scenes with Book 1’s couple, Harley and Tate with their newborn! A curse brings the shifter friends to their mates. If they don’t actually mate with these women, they will die. Tate is saved, so it is now Steff’s turn. Steff is a bear shifter who gets a second chance at his high school love, April. April is a supermodel whose wild behavior sends her running home to hide. The meeting between Steff and April is very realistic, as are the meetings between Steff and his former BFF’s (April’s brothers). The ending I liked but it was rushed and we should have seen more instances that led up to that ending rather than just in the last 30% of the book.

As you read this “author” it becomes very apparent that not all of the books are written by the same person. There are inconsistencies and continuity issues. Not to mention all the books seem to follow the same predictable pattern. And editing is a serious problem. The pointless friend, turns out the be the pointless sister, gets in a car accident while driving Katie’s car. The police think a hit was taken out on Katie and someone is trying to kill her. (The find traces of poison in her dishes.) Katie demands to see her husband. He tells Katie that Louisa is obsessed with Dan. (Just like her.) Katie promises to figure it out, some way/somehow. Speaking of neighbors, a new couple moves in next door. A couple, Lee and his girlfriend Geena, move into Chester’s house. They are surprised Elise lives next door and try to apologize. Lee is Elise’s former fiance, and Geena was her best friend. Meanwhile, Geena and Elise get into an altercation in the woods. Geena continues to pressure Elise on her feeling about Lee. She is paranoid that her husband is still in love with Elise. One look at April, and Steff’s bear has found his fated mate. But he’s bound and determined to get her to hate him and, hopefully, break their bond.There is an emotional cheating trope which is not my cup of tea. I will give Jo Platt credit that her writing was so good that I did want to find out what happens next. This trope was unexpected when reading the blurb and first chapter of the book. As Esme breaks up with Elliott because she thought he was cheating on her but then engages in an emotional affair with him when he has a new girlfriend? It felt very hypocritical and did not seem in character for Esme. Geena and Lee meet with Allan to talk about buying the house. They plan to move to the Caribbean. It is all a ploy to get him over to the house and drug him. As he struggles to leave, Geena tells Allan that they are just pawns and Elise and Lee are going to divorce them. He is holding a bloody hammer when he comes to, and Geena is bloody and beaten in Lee’s arms. Geena dies, and Allan is charged with murder. What is it with Elliot? He dosnt want to lose Morgan but cant force himself to release Esme. Why oh why Esme still thinking the possible of reconcile? Did she not thinking Eliot will do the same thing to her too? Double red flagss Grrr.. Turns out, I was wrong for assuming he was the main love interest! I was appreciative of the fact that Esme and Elliot were not endgame, and I liked who the love interest ended up being. However, I think in her attempt to create a twist, I didn't really feel like there was a progressive build-up of chemistry between Esme and David, and so their romance fell a little flat. I think I would have appreciated a more progressive shift in their dynamic. And also… about 46% of the book… was anybody else freaking out??? Have I been watching/reading too much suspense??

The FMC and MMC character voices were nearly indistinguishable from each other. For the majority of the book it very much reads like the author's musings instead of unique internal dialogue. I didn't hate the plot and the last act intrigued me enough that I will be reading the next book. Steff and April have history. High school sweethearts, planning for a future together, when it all falls apart. Steff leaves her to persue his dream of becoming a pro baseball player. April is devastated. Decides to leave their small Colorado town for the bright lights of big city L.A. I was so confused about Esme's crush on David. I did not see it coming and honestly thought that I missed reading a few chapters about their relationship. I don't think there were enough scenes to show that David was even an option for a crush, or to see their dynamic. The first half of the book was really Elliot heavy, and I thought the author wanted that to happen. It's quite the treat to read especially having an ex-spouse in my real life named 'David' however, I tried not to let that thought overtake this book. After Katie falls off her bike, Dan and Louisa finally meet. It is pretty uneventful except that Katie is rushed to the hospital from her bike fall. Katie scolds Dan for not being more friendly to Louisa.Second chances, near misses, or bulls-eyes is up for debate in this newly crafted piece made out of love.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment